various bits of stuff

Another library system has entered the Google Library project, the CIC libraries. Here’s a news release that a friend sent me, and here’s the Google announcement. Lorcan Dempsey also provides coverage. I find this interesting for a number of reasons: 1) a library near me will be one of the libraries in Google, and 2) the Authors Guild just sued the Google Print project, even though publisher after publisher has admitted that Google Books IMPROVES sales. Sigh.

My library system is apparently investigating SecondLife. This amuses me to no end, since we have no programming staff who could devote their time to do this, and since many, many library staff still aren’t comfortable with some of the other social software staples like blogs, wikis, and RSS. My supervisor ran across something about the Learning 2.0 program and suggested I look into it for the library staff, and though I’d been thinking about it on my own for months, I just don’t think it will be possible to get the institutional support to really do it right. Maybe I am just a cynic. In any case, I am already planning to do a bunch of classes on RSS.

Sometimes I really wonder how on earth I could ever have the time to do what I want to do, much less what I need to do. For instance, my Google and Google Scholar classes are the most recently developed classes for the libraries. I would like to do more, especially as regards RSS and other social software technologies, but I also have to get all those other pesky things like reference and collection development and library management done. I don’t know how solo librarians do it. My hats off to them, starting with David.

My second year (soon to be third year) students were back today after departing to places hither and yon for the USMLE Step 1. It was great having the library noisy and energetic again! They now have started down the path where they get separated. The MD/PhD’s started their PhD track today, and the group of MD/JD students are about to leave for another state or have already left. This came after 2 years (of course) of being together practically non-stop. If I miss them already, I can only imagine how they all feel. Judging by the enthusiasm of their afternoon in the library, they were overjoyed to see each other again.

I love Ritter Sports. By the way. I lust for Voll-Nuss Ritter Sports.

This probably deserves its own post, but I am feeling like the blog people Michael Gorman so lovingly described today–like I can’t concentrate on a large chunk of text. Anyone following the medical blogging world knows that medical blogs all over have started disappearing or getting shrouded behind cloaks of secrecy. Dr. Flea is the most famous, the doc who yanked his blog over a lawsuit. Fat Doctor went under at the same time, though she has thankfully resurfaced. Her post on the patients who were obsessed with House is legendary. Today, I followed a link to one of the medical student blogs I had posted about and found it walled off. Patient privacy, HIPAA, and ethics have all been called into question by recent newspaper articles. Some medical bloggers have advised only blogging under one’s real name. To me, this is depressing. Why should health professionals have less of a right to express themselves freely? I suppose the answer is twofold: 1) health professionals have a more stringent ethical code they must adhere to than, say, librarians, and 2) they get caught. Maybe I just feel extra defensive because I blog pseudonymously. A friend whom I am collaborating with a project on asked me if I’d be listing my authorship under my real name or Ratcatcher, and I immediately said my real name. But I have no intention of blogging under my real name. Does this mean I live my life in fear (yeah, probably), that I am embarrassed about my blog (only somewhat likely), or that I know I am posting stuff I shouldn’t (well, yeah, I guess). Online anonymity is an oxymoron, of course, but it is nice to have an outlet to express one’s self, even if the veneer of anonymity is thin. I admire T. Scott all the more for not having a distinction between his personal and professional life.

3 responses to “various bits of stuff

  1. Well, not having a budget for collection development really frees up some time…

    😉

  2. I secretly think David has learned how to clone himself and that is how he is able to do all he does. Have you seen the time stamp on his last post?! I can tell you on Thursday, June 7th, 2007 at 2:26 am, I was sleeping not blogging.
    The man is either a machine or he has clones.

  3. David–you have me there. 🙂

    And, I agree with Michelle–I wish I had a quarter your energy!

Leave a Reply

